Being CK

January 10, 2012

12 in 2k12

Filed under: Uncategorized — Christina @ 6:52 pm

So I’ve been thinking and thinking about this.  Though I don’t believe in resolutions, I’m gonna jump on the 12 in 2012 bandwagon.  My resolutions are less resolute though, you’ll see.

1.Less Caffeine – More Water!  For me that probably means 3 cups of coffee in the morning instead of 5+, cut out the afternoon Rockstar (at least 3 days a week), and having a Coke with dinner only 4 nights a week (maybe the nights that I didn’t have the Rockstar in the afternoon)

2.More Family Time!  Bring back the game nights!  Now that they’re old enough to play games besides Go Fish! and Uno, lol. I’ll be realistic here and shoot for twice a month?

3.Pay Attention!  When talking to the kids or when they’re talking to me, I will give them my full attention instead of having one eye/ear on the tv, computer or phone.

4.Project Life!  I’m going to do Project Life 2012.  Such a great and (seemingly) simple idea!  Leave it to Becky Higgins to figure it out.  I will complete a 2-page spread for each week at minimum.  Would be great to do more, but we shall see.

5.Shoot More!  MUST use my camera more.  I’m seeing a lot of people planning to take a family portrait on the 12th of every month.  Seems like a lot but I think that’s a good idea.  I don’t think I have one single family portrait from 2011.  It doesn’t have to be fancy, just a photo of the 4 (or 5, lol) of us.

6.Waste Less!  I will (try to) not buy (too many) unnecessary things.  Stay away from Michael’s dollar bins and Target’s dollar spot and Daiso, lol.  I will pack up leftovers and (make someone) eat them the next day.

7.Be (more) Efficient!  Haha, I had to add the *more* in there.  Won’t be hard to be *more* efficient than I am now or have been throughout last year.  I will wake up on time (not hard to do since puppy wakes me up early every morning), make everyone’s lunch, finish my chores for the day before picking up the kids, have dinner ready before 6:00 as much as possible.

Damn that’s only 7?  Can I stop now?  7 in 2012 doesn’t have the same ring as 12 in 2012.  Let me think of 5 easy ones……

8.Everything in its Place!  I have a bad habit of buying things – even groceries – and leaving them in the bags on the floor and just using them out of the bag.  Horrible.  Must put things away.  Clean clothes – straight from the dryer into the drawers/closet.  That will be a hard one I can already tell.

9.Keep open lines of communication!  Haha, I NEVER answer my phone.  And it’s not because I don’t want to, I’m just never near my phone so I don’t hear it.  HBY gets SO MAD.  Actually, a lot of people do.  Once, I was putting away the laundry in my closet and I was trying to be good so I took the phone with me.  I left it in there for almost 2 days.  Horrible.

10.Spend one-on-one time with the kids.  I think I will have to do one project a week with each kid.  For Alex will be some type of crafting or baking project.  For Dillon it will be a mini science experiment  or help him cook dinner.  I think one a week for each is pushing it.  So how about one week, one kid.  Next week, other kid.  Lol.

11.Be (more) Organized!  My desk is a crazy pile of papers.  Paper crafting supplies EVERYWHERE!  I’ve got to organize and purge.  For real.

And finally #12!  And I think this is the most important….I MUST drop the 20 pounds that I’ve picked up over the last 4 months.  Seriously, I’ve gained 20 pounds since August.  And at the rate I’m going, I could easily gain another 20.  I’ve said it before – and I stand by it – I’m sure it’s the Depo shot that I got back in August.  There’s no other explanation.  But whatever caused it, I’ve got to reverse it.  Even if it takes all year, that’s okay.

So there it is…my 12 for 2012.  Sounds do-able.  Nothing ridiculous or impossible.  I wanted to put something in there about making and sending all of my close friends and relatives hand-made birthday cards, but I’d already lose because tomorrow is my Gran’s birthday and I have no cards to send and it would take almost a week to get to Hawaii anyway.  So…Baby steps.

Now…I’ve got to work on my Project Life title page and Week 1 spread.  After I cook dinner and clean the kitchen.

6 Comments »

  1. Haha! Great to see you posting again! I blog for the same reason people take pictures – so you can look back and laugh on the events of that time. That is what motivates me. But more importantly, it keeps my head straight. Sometimes people forget how difficult it could be to convey thoughts in words. Blogging helps me exercise that portion of my brain – and I find that it actually translates to better communication for me in the workplace. My emails/memos at work are more concise and efficient. People always say reading is good – and I believe that writing is just as important. It sounds silly, but it’s definitely true!

    It’s funny to see that your #1 resolution is the same #1 resolution I have although my caffeine reduction goes from 2 to 0, not 5 to 3!!! Water, water, water, water is really the key. I hate drinking water, but I’ve been forcing myself and I do already feel more energy after just a few days. I hope it turns into something that is second nature. Right now it still feels like I have to force myself.

    I joined your 30 day photo challenge. As you may have noticed, I have been taking lots of pictures. I am a totally dry sponge when it comes to learning about photography. I want to learn more and more and this challenge is a perfect way to keep my learning process going! My iPhone is my favorite camera, believe it or not. When I look at all the shots I take with my iPhone, V1 and D7000, my favorites always seem to come from my iPhone. I guess it’s helped me to learn that it’s not about equipment (although its very helpful) but more about the moment!

    LOL Sorry, I didn’t mean to get all meta on you! I thought you were done with blogging, so I removed you from my blog. Now I added it back! So hopefully that adds some “pressure” for you to update! Haha

    Comment by itcrashed — January 14, 2012 @ 7:45 am | Reply

    • You’re so right! I find myself really having to “search” for the right word more and more often! It’s horrible, I need to start reading more and definitely writing more than shopping lists and calendar entries. And yeah, it is fun to look back on the old blog posts, photos are fun, but to read the words and know what I was thinking at the time is much better.

      I definitely plan on updating more often! I’ve finally worked out somewhat of a routine when the kids are in school and the puppy is napping that I can have some alone time and sit and blog. Sometimes, that means blog hopping instead of writing, but…baby steps 😉

      Glad you joined the 30-day photo challenge! I can’t wait to see what you post!

      Oh yeah, and as for our #1 resolution…I haven’t gotten the “less caffeine” part down yet, but I have been good about the “more water”. Because, from none to any is progress for me 😀

      Comment by Christina — January 14, 2012 @ 8:08 pm | Reply

    • Oh yeah, Rex, I gotta tell you. One of the reasons I switched back to the iPhone is because of all of your photos you posted. And Instagram 😉

      Comment by Christina — January 15, 2012 @ 10:41 am | Reply

      • Isn’t it the greatest? I know other phones have heartier with specs, but it seems the iPhone’s ecosystem is second to none. And all the apps…holy cow the apps 🙂 Check out Path, Oink, Flipboard, Find Friends, the list goes on and on! Instagram is only one of many great apps out there!

        Comment by itcrashed — January 15, 2012 @ 10:32 pm

  2. omg!! new posts!! lol…i made a 35 list since i’m turning 35 this year… (well in like half an hour) hahahha…we will see how it goes..maybe i’ll actually post on my blog for once and put down my 35 list that i wrote out and pasted in my smash book 🙂

    Comment by daph — January 21, 2012 @ 12:29 am | Reply

    • I can’t believe you made a 35 list!! I’m so curious to see what’s on it!

      Comment by Christina — February 5, 2012 @ 10:32 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

