Being CK

September 8, 2011

New City, New Home, New Life…

Filed under: Uncategorized — Christina @ 1:10 pm

I think to myself everyday that I’m going to sit down and write a quick blog post.  And the days pass, and I’ll think – wow, now I have stuff to actually write about on my blog today.  And more days pass then I think – man, I have so much stuff to write about that it’s going to take a while, so I’ll have to wait until I have time to do it.  And now, 8 months later…I don’t even know where to start…

First off – we moved…YAY!!  I couldn’t stand living in that sh*thole any longer!  The city was driving me crazy with all the horrible drivers, narrow streets, parallel parking, traffic, PEDESTRIANS, street cleaning, ugh.  All of a sudden I was about to lose my mind.  I think it started when Babygirl’s soccer season began, and all of their games were in Golden Gate park, and I’d have to get there at least 45 minutes early to be able to find parking and walk to the freaking field.  Then, I’d have to figure a way to rush to Dillon’s game, or vice versa.  The clincher, though, was at the end of last school year, I was working on a project at the school on Saturday, and I had to run to Costco in Colma to pick up some photos.  It took me 90 FREAKING minutes to get back to the school after Costco.  And every shortcut I tried to take was jammed up too.  I was livid when I got there.  It normally would take 10 minutes to do that drive.  Then, the very next weekend, Marvin decided to take Dillon fishing at Crissy Field, but ended up changing his mind and took him to the Exploratorium instead.  That drive normally takes about 20 minutes, with all that stupid construction maybe 30, but that day took over 2 hours.  What kind of insane person wants to live in a retarded place like that! Ugh.  I got by all those years because I chose to never leave the house on the weekends, but who wants to be cooped up on the weekends?  Can’t even take the kids to a playground because it’s overrun with kids, and they’re mostly asshole kids.

Okay, okay, I better stop, I can feel my blood pressure rising…

So now, it’s back to the country.  For me.  First time for Marvin and the kids.  We had been talking about moving out of the city, but not really looking.  Well, we’d look, but in the cities I wanted to move to (Millbrae, Burlingame, Cupertino) there was nothing that we could afford.  And where we could afford – Tracy, Antioch, Clayton, Brentwood – I would not consider living there.  I never thought Marvin would consider moving down this way, so I never even brought it up.  I tried to find a place in Almaden Valley, so the kids could go to Leland High School.  Psh.  Cheaper to stay in the city and pay for private school, and that’s minimum $35k per year, per kid.

So we ended up here, in Gilroy.  Sounds so funny.  I live in Gilroy.  But aside from the weather, I like it here.  20 minutes from San Jose, 30 minutes from Marina, I can go anywhere at any time (except Walmart on Sunday night before the first day of school, that was horrible) and not have to fight any crowds or traffic or anything.  Surprisingly, Marvin likes it here too.  Kids don’t fight as much (but just barely less) since they have their own rooms.  The weather is nice here so they can play outside.  When we’re at home, I just kick them out into the backyard and they just do their own thing, mostly collecting bugs, ew.  On any given day you can see deer prancing by or wild turkeys hanging out just up the hill from the house.  I’m hoping that’s all the wildlife I’ll come across out here.  The neighbors are friendly and wave at each other and have come by to welcome us to the neighborhood and offer us any help we need.  I’m not really used to it, but Marvin said I better wave back or they’ll call me a stuck up bitch.  Hah.  Like I care. Funny that he does.

Anyway, the kids have adjusted like champs.  They like their new school and have made new friends.  They always want to play after school, but I can not stand the heat just yet.  At 2:30 pm, when I pick them up, the sun is at its hottest I swear.  In the winter, I’ll let them play all they want, but I can not sit out in that sun. Lots of kids ride their bikes to school, that’s something you never see in the city.  Dillon asks when he can walk/ride his bike to school by himself and I told him never.  Poor Dillon.  I said he can go to school by himself when he drives and has a car.  Except he’ll have to drive his sister, lol.  I guess that part of living in the city stuck with me.  Paranoid. Only with them though.  Marvin has gotten used to me parking the car out in the driveway instead of always in the garage.  And though I still get a little lecture when I don’t lock the car, I don’t get in big trouble like I used to.  But he made sure to put in automatically-locking deadbolts on the doors, so then at least he doesn’t have to worry about that.  I just have to remember to lock the sliding door from the backyard, which I don’t always do.  Honestly, though, I can’t imagine anything ever happening here.  The houses are too close together, and the people are too nosey.  The house across from us leaves the garage door open all night sometimes.

Okay,I think that’s enough for this post.  Hopefully I’ll post again tomorrow (or soon at least) about the actual house…

5 Comments »

  1. dang took you long enough to update your blog lol….not like i’m one to be talking hahaha

    i still need to come visit you…at the rate of our remodel and some delays it might not be til the baby comes…then i’ll come over and you can watch the baby while i take a quick nap hahahaha j/k

    Comment by daph — September 8, 2011 @ 9:13 pm | Reply

    • Haha. Easy peasy. Mostly they just sleep at first anyway, lol. Probably in the early months, I’ll come to you and watch the baby so you can nap 😉
      I hope your remodel is done soon so I can come and check it out!

      Comment by Christina — September 9, 2011 @ 10:41 am | Reply

    • Ummm…okay?!? December 2009. Haha, I had to go check.

      Comment by Christina — September 9, 2011 @ 10:44 am | Reply

      • lol maybe i’ll be better when the baby comes……ya right haha…who am i kidding lol

        Comment by daph — September 13, 2011 @ 12:44 am

  2. Congrats on your new living area/space/home- everything 🙂

    Comment by SheryAnne — September 10, 2011 @ 2:54 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

