Being CK

January 13, 2011

Happy 2011!

Filed under: Uncategorized — Christina @ 11:37 am

Yeah, did I even post in 2010?  Well….I have no excuse….just plain laziness I guess.  I thought I’d have so much time after Babygirl started school.  I would post here at least on a weekly basis, if not daily.  Man, I didn’t even make it monthly.  I thought I’d catch up on my scrapbooking, or at least produce a few pages a week.  I thought I’d send a handmade birthday card to everyone I know.  I thought I’d have time to take a photography course, start and keep up with a project 365, workout with the Wii Fit for 30 mins a day, take a Zumba class twice a week, play the piano for an hour a day, learn to play the electric guitar hby got me for my bday (yes, in January.  so far i’ve only learned to play the intro to Sweet Child o’ Mine), and all kinds of other stuff.  Was I being too ambitious?  Well, I didn’t do any of those things.  Not even a little of one of those things.  Although, when Babygirl started Kindergarten she also started a ballet class, she joined a soccer team (which is made up of mainly the younger siblings of the kids on Dillon’s soccer team), enrolled in a shaolin kung fu school with her brother and switched to private swim lessons in Pacifica, along with her brother.  Still it seems like I should have been able to accomplish something.  Every day hby would come home and ask me “what did you do today”?  And the answer would be the same.  Watch TV, play on FB, shop online, went to Target or Costco or the mall.  Sometimes my answer would be “sleep”.  And I felt a little guilty at first but then I thought about it…..those measly four or five hours are the only hours of the day that I can do whatever I want.  Which, okay, is mostly nothing.  But after he gets home from work (and no, he does not work a full 8 hours every day, more like 3-5), he does whatever he wants until he goes to sleep.  I pick up the kids from school, wait at the school while they play, bring them home, make them a snack, bring them to their practices/lessons, come back home, help them with their homework, cook dinner, bathe them, get them to bed.  And that doesn’t include the days I spend volunteering at the school (which is turning out to be 2-3 days a week).  And somewhere in there I have to figure out when I can clean up, do the laundry, wash the dishes, maintain the cars (yes, that’s my job for some reason), pay the bills.  And then I have to find a time to even use the bathroom or take a shower.  Shoot.  So then – I don’t feel guilty anymore.  I’m enjoying my much-deserved down-time.

It is crazy how fast the time has passed.  We celebrated my Gran’s 85th birthday in Las Vegas in May.  It was a huge family affair, we all had a great time.  Summer kind of breezed past, we spent a lot of time hanging out with friends/family.  Dillon did a two-week soccer camp and Babygirl got to go to a Princess Ballet Camp for 2 weeks.  We bought a pair of houses in Las Vegas in September (which of course meant we had to go back there to take care of everything).  Brand new and so cute and each under $100k.  Too bad we couldn’t find homes like those in the Bay Area for even $300k.  Shoot, even $500k.  We celebrated Dillon’s 8th birthday in October.  8 years old already.  His birthday list consisted of 2 things:  an iPad and a 40″ tv for his room.  Okay??  Crazy boy.  He ended up getting a little 12″ Toshiba laptop.  He’s in heaven, he plays all his little online games with his friends, Skypes with Pristina when she’s away at school, emails his grandma and nana, and looks up game cheats on YouTube, lol.  We had a princess party in Monterey for Halloween, I dressed up as Jasmine, lol.  I asked my brother if he thought I could get a blond wig and be Cinderella and he said I was too dark.  Rude.  We celebrated Thankgsgiving in Las Vegas with my mom, sister and Nana.  We had a million things to do in December it seemed like.  I was at the school almost every day, mostly in Babygirl’s class, but some days in Dillon’s or on a field trip.  I’m starting to strongly dislike the kids in Dillon’s class.    Babygirl performed in her first Nutcracker.  She had two small little parts, so she didn’t have a huge amount of rehearsal time, but it was pretty hectic trying to fit the rehearsals in with the rest of their schedule. Especially when her mandatory rehearsals were on Saturday afternoons, and both kids had soccer games on Saturdays.  We went to Las Vegas AGAIN the week before Christmas.  We hoped to get a tenant that week to move into one of the houses, but after many appointments that were broken (without any notice) we decided to just leave it up to a property manager.  Celebrated Christmas with family in Monterey and New Year’s again in Monterey.  Hmm, doesn’t seem like that much when I list it out like that. Well, I guess I was too busy doing nothing and sleeping all day. Oh yeah, and did I mention that I bought a 7D somewhere in there?  I got that, Marvin got another car and I got a 27″ iMac and a 13″ Pro. And HBY got an iPad.  I didn’t think he would like it that much but he LOVES that thing.  I play Words with Friends on it when he’s at work, lol.  That’s pretty much the only thing I miss about the iPhone…

Anyway, I guess that’s it for now.  I wanted to upload photos but they’re all still on my external hard drive.  I haven’t imported them yet because I’m still debating whether I want to allocate any of this iMac’s drive to run Windows or not….any thoughts??

1 Comment »

  1. Hey CK! Wow! One full year in one post – amazing 😉 You seem to have good excuses for not being on here that often. Oh trust me, I would rather do what you are doing than sitting on a computer all day blogging about my computer and RC cars. Haha

    I can’t believe you got all these new gadgets! Your technology tastes seem to be very similar to mine. I have a 27″ iMac, iPad, and a MacBook Pro 13″ (just recently sold it) I can’t be without my iPad!

    As far as running Windows on your iMac, you only need to permanently allocate space if you decide to go with Boot Camp. I went that route and was pretty disappointed at being only able to use one or the other OS at any given time. Instead, I went the software route, using Parallels. I haven’t looked back. I went with Parallels because hard drive allocation is dynamic. It will only take what it needs as you need it! And you can also run multiple OS! I spent $60 on Parallels and run Windows XP, Vista, 7, Ubuntu, and Chrome OS all on my 1TB hard drive. And if you really want to get “crafty” you can always buy an external USB hard drive and put your Parallels installs there!

    I made a brief video of my iMac running Parallels – you will see in the upper left corner that I have Vista running and on the bottom XP (along with a bunch of other applications). http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=itcrashed#p/u/13/jnIbaFfaBtA

    You can go to the parallels website and install the trial…you will be surprised at how good the software is!

    Comment by Rex — January 17, 2011 @ 3:22 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

